Who’s Watching You?

Who’s Watching You?

Blog – 6-7-17

We had a family wedding last weekend, and it was an absolutely perfect day. My nephew got married in his parents’ yard on McCook Lake, and the weather, the setting, and the couple could not have been more beautiful.

They had a live band at the reception, which is always fun. Especially when the band is really good, and this band was great! They played mostly country, which is right up my alley. I LOVE to dance, and I don’t get the opportunity to dance very often, so when I can, I DO. I mean, I pretty much never leave the dance floor.

Saturday night was extra special because I had a special group of little girls that were dancing with me. There were four of my great nieces and one other little girl who I didn’t even know. They asked me to dance, and dance we did! We formed a circle, and my little tribe watched my every move. I started making up routines as we went. We jumped in, we jumped out, we turned circles, we did the grapevine, we did the pony, we put one foot in and one foot out. It was a blast!

It was exhausting!

I was amazed at how quickly my little minions picked up on my awesome “moves!” (Okay, maybe just awesome in my mind!) They watched me intently and did their very best to copy exactly what I was doing. If my arms were up, theirs were up. If I was clapping, they were clapping. It was adorable, and I couldn’t keep from having the time of my life.

As I reflect on all the fun we had and picture their sweet little faces, I realize what happened on that dance floor happens in life. People follow people. We try to copy and emulate other people’s lives. Social media taps into our natural human tendency as we “follow” people on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Sometimes it’s good things we are following…and sometimes it isn’t. For example, I personally have no idea why anyone would follow the Kardashians, but millions do.

It’s interesting to note that the word “follow” appears 435 times in the Bible. One passage that jumped out at me as I was studying today says:

Join together in following my example, brothers and sisters, and just as you have us as a model, keep your eyes on those who live as we do. For, as I have often told you before and now tell you again even with tears, many live as enemies of the cross of Christ.”
Philippians 3:17-18

As we follow people on social media, as we model our lives after people we barely know, it’s easy to see that these words written over 2,000 years ago have never been as true as they are today. We see people doing exactly what it says in this verse, living their lives as enemies of the cross, yet we try to follow them. They make the ways of the world and turning your back on faith look so fun. They whisper lies like, “What’s the big deal. You’re too uptight.”

It’s way too easy to follow the wrong thing.

As I re-read that passage, the words “keep your eyes on those who live as we do” grabs my heart. It begs me to ask tough questions like:
Am I following the right people?

Who and what am I keeping my eyes on?

Who might be keeping their eyes on me?

What kind of follower would a new Christian become if they emulate me?

 

Some days I feel good about those questions and could answer them fairly confidently. Other days not so much.

How would you answer them, my friend?

As we go through our week, I encourage all of us to be mindful of the fact that we are being watched. Whether it’s our family, friends, co-workers, people who check us out in the grocery store, caregivers, friends on social media…they watch. They see.

We must ask ourselves, the actions that they see me display, are they of Christ?

None of us will ever be perfect, it’s simply not possible. However, I believe we have to strive with all of our being to be the hands and feet of Christ and be someone who is worthy to be followed.

As I think of those adorable little girls who followed me with great intensity on the dance floor, my humble prayer is that my everyday walk would be worthy of following with that same intensity.

Hugs and love,
Jill

2 thoughts on “Who’s Watching You?

  1. As I think of those adorable little girls who followed me with great intensity on the dance floor, my humble prayer is that my everyday walk would be worthy of following with that same intensity.
    Hugs and love,
    Jill (FEAR NOT JILL You are absolutely worthy…..Jean.)

Leave a Reply

