Restless Heart Syndrome

23798e1c-a15e-4c39-b647-fbdc029e0a93Restless Heart Syndrome

Blog – 5-31-17

Have you ever been crabby and not really known why? Have you ever felt sad for no reason? Have you ever had an uneasiness in your soul that you can’t put your finger on?

I have.

In fact, I’ve had intermittent periods of that lately.

I don’t know how to say it other than I have felt a little out of sorts. Nothing is really wrong…yet nothing feels really right. My mood has been a little lackluster.

I’m surrounded by people…yet I feel alone.

I’m doing fun things…but there’s an emptiness to my day.

I’m smiling on the outside…but I feel overwhelmed on the inside.

And I haven’t really known why…until today.

A trip to Trinity Heights for some Jesus time has been long overdue, so I made sure I had time in my schedule to go up there today.

As I walked to where I sit at Jesus’ feet, my soul instantly started settling a bit. I slowed my steps and started noticing and appreciating my surroundings. For some reason, I felt the urge to read some of the plaques that line the walkway.

One particular plaque stopped me in my tracks. It happens to be right before you get to the statue of Jesus, but in all my journeys to this spot, I had never read it before. Hmmm, a little Holy Spirit at work.

It said:

“Our hearts are restless until they rest in you.”

As I let out a deep breath, I instantly knew those simple words were the key to what was going on inside my soul. I was suffering from restless heart syndrome. It wasn’t that anything was really wrong, I simply wasn’t resting in Jesus. Sure I was doing my daily devotions and going through the motions, but I wasn’t truly resting in Him. I was busy trying to do life on my own, which never really works at all.

God gently reminded me that until we find rest in Him, we will continually feel restless. We will have a quiet, underlying longing for more, different, better, shinier, newer…whatever. We will feel like there’s a void in our life and not know why. The simple truth is, we will never ever be satisfied until our hearts are in the hands of Jesus.

As I drove home, I wish I could tell you that I had a euphoria about me and my day was totally changed, but it wasn’t. I still have a to-do list that contains more than I can do, I still need to perform tasks that drain me, I still wish a few of my goals were closer to completion.

But I can state with all honesty that there IS a big difference in my attitude and my heart. I have more peace. I don’t feel quite as anxious. I sense God’s presence a whole lot more, which in turn makes me much more content.

If you’re suffering from restless heart syndrome, my friend, I urge you to find your rest in Jesus. All of us fight a battle every day to not get drug down with the worries and cares of this world, and we need to continually remind ourselves where our true help comes from. We are not meant to do life on our own.

The only cure for restless heart syndrome is to find our rest in the one who said:

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”
Matthew 11:28

Father God, thank you for your gentle reminder that I can find rest in you. Thank you for always waiting for me to come to you and never growing tired of my constant wandering off. Thank you that my heart has a home, a place of rest, right there in your precious hands.

Hugs and love,

Jill

2 thoughts on “Restless Heart Syndrome

Leave a Reply

