Word of Christ

Word of Christ

Blog – 4-19-17

As I write this, I literally just got done listening to the initial mixes from Nashville. Can you say AMAZING! I’m truly blown away at how incredible the songs are sounding and so excited that we are very close to having the finished CD in our hands. A million thanks to our producer, Jimmy Nichols, who is absolutely killing the songs.

This week we are going to focus on one of my absolute favorite songs on the project. I know I’ve said that before, but something about this song really moves me. It somehow makes me feel God’s presence, and I pray it does the same thing for you.

It’s the song for Step 11, and it’s called “Word of Christ.”  Step 11 says, “We sought through prayer and meditation to improve our conscious contact with God, praying only for knowledge of His will for us, and power to carry that out.” The verse for this step reads:

Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly.
Colossians 3:16

As you can gather by the title of the song, for this step we once again used the verse as our main source of inspiration.

Have you ever taken this verse literally and tried to picture what the word of Christ looks like when it does, indeed, dwell in you richly? Have you ever pondered what that could entail? Have you felt the joy of having God’s word dwell in your own heart?

Rachel and I tried hard to picture that as we wrote this song, and to us it felt like a place of total peace, calm and serenity. A place without all the noise and clutter of our normal, everyday lives.

I feel like I could write all day and not get the feeling of this song right, so I want to do something different this week. Since I just got this rough mix today, I want to share the song with you. It’s not mastered yet and there will be some tweaking done, but I believe the song can speak better than I can.

I invite you to read the words below as you listen to the music, and let the song move you to see the picture Rachel and I saw of God dwelling within us.

Word of Christ
Words and music by Jill Miller and Rachel Barrentine ©2016

Verse 1
I will seek you in the morning
I will find you in the dark
As I wait and meditate upon your heart
I will quiet all the static
Silence all the noise
So I can hear your still small voice

Chorus
Word of Christ, dwell in me
Holy Spirit come and take control
Breath of God, breathe on me
Let Your truth arise inside my soul
Word of Christ, dwell in me

Verse 2
From the dawn of creation
To the end of the age
You anoint the ones who call upon your name
You give power to the humble
Strength to the weak
Grace for every day and every need

Chorus
Word of Christ, dwell in me
Holy Spirit come and take control
Breath of God, breathe on me
Let Your truth arise inside my soul
Word of Christ, dwell in me

Bridge
Show me your will, give me your power to carry it through
Lamp unto my feet, light unto my path, Jesus, that’s you

Chorus
Word of Christ, dwell in me
Holy Spirit come and take control
Breath of God, breathe on me
Let Your truth arise inside my soul
Word of Christ, dwell in me

Hugs and love,

Jill

Leave a Reply

