Turn It Over

Blog – 2-22-17

I don’t know about you, but at times (okay, most of the time!) I struggle with turning situations over to God. I try to place things in His hands, I really do, but I tend to keep a tiny piece of control in my pocket, just in case. You never know when you might have to get back in there and take over, right! Either that or I turn it over…then I take it back. Turn it over, take it back. Turn it over, take it back. It becomes a game of tug of war.

I’m not sure if it’s lack of faith or fear of not being in control or just plain stubbornness, but completely turning something over can be extremely hard.

But how sweet and freeing it is when I finally surrender…completely!

Step 3 is all about turning things over. It’s where the rubber meets the road. We can talk about faith, we can talk about change, we can talk about our beliefs, but at some point we have to do more than talk. We have to turn…turn our lives wholly and completely over to God. Step 3 reads, “We made a decision to turn our lives and our wills over to the care of God.”

God doesn’t force himself on us. He gives us the free choice to make the decision for ourselves, to turn our lives over to Him when we are ready.

Isn’t that amazing, we get to decide!

And when we finally do surrender and let God take control, that’s when we experience true freedom and joy.

“Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God – this is your spiritual act of worship.”
Romans 12:1

When we live out Step 3 in our lives, when we totally turn ourselves over to God, it is an act of worship. We are saying, “I’m yours, Father. Do what you want in and through me.”

It’s letting go of all those things that we want to keep hidden in our pockets. It’s loosening our death grip on control. It’s giving up the tug of war.

By the way, as I write this I am literally in the studio in Nashville recording the vocals on the new project. When I got on the plane to come here, I felt horrible. I was fighting a cold and had hardly slept. I felt a wave of panic wash over me as I was driving to the airport about how in the world I would be able to sing the next day since colds are definitely not good on voices!

I kept telling my anxious thought to stop, however, as I continually turned it over to God. I made a conscious decision to not freak out! I asked for prayers and let it go. I knew there was no way God had moved this project forward in miraculous ways to have it stopped now by a stupid cold. God is way bigger than that!

I trusted, I turned it over again and again, I took all the cold remedies I could think of, and my voice is strong and clean. God has shown up! It feels like another tiny, yet huge miracle that has happened along the way of this project, and my heart is filled with gratitude and a renewed sense of awe at how good God really is.

It makes me love the lyrics Rachel and I wrote for the song that goes along with Step 3 even more! As you read them below, I hope it encourages you to Let Go and Let God!

Turn It Over
Words and music by Jill Miller and Rachel Barrentine ©2016

I’m making a decision I can’t live another minute without you
When all is said and done I know that You’re the only one I should run to
I’m letting go of every habit that holds me back

I’m gonna turn, turn, turn it over, my will and my plans
Gonna let You take, take, take control of all that I am
Your grace turns me upside down
With joy my heart is crying out
As I turn, turn, turn it over right now

Don’t want to dip my toes, it’s time for me to dive and go all the way in
Cuz’ everything I’ve tried has left me feeling dead inside ‘til You came in
With all my heart, mind, and all my strength

I’m gonna turn, turn, turn it over, my will and my plans
Gonna let You take, take, take control of all that I am
Your grace turns me upside down
With joy my heart is crying out
As I turn, turn, turn it over right now

Your love is perfect, Your cross is the proof
Your ways are higher, I’m trusting You

I’m gonna turn, turn, turn it over, my will and my plans
Gonna let You take, take, take control of all that I am
Your grace turns me upside down
With joy my heart is crying out
As I turn, turn, turn it over right now

Hugs and love,

Jill

One thought on “Turn It Over

  1. Hello! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new apple iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the superb work!

Leave a Reply

