Powerless

Blog – 2-8-17

The recording in Nashville last week went amazing! I’m thrilled to report that we got all 12 songs on the new project tracked, which means the main instrument parts are recorded. Now we will add some additional parts like strings and solo instruments, and then Rachel and I will go in and record our lead vocals and background vocals. I honestly couldn’t be happier with how the songs are turning out!

I thought it might be fun to take a look at each of the songs and the Step they go with individually over the next weeks. I’d love to share my heart about them.

The first song is called “Powerless,” and it goes with Step 1 which says, “We admitted we were powerless over our addictions and compulsive behavior, that our lives had become unmanageable.” Some of you reading this can relate to addiction and compulsive behavior, and some of you can’t. Even if you don’t struggle with it personally, I believe admitting we are powerless is a huge step in our faith.

As Rachel and I wrote this song, I remembered times in my own life when I’ve had to surrender. Times when I have been absolutely worn out and overwhelmed by situations I couldn’t control. Times when I felt hopeless.

Times when I finally got to the end of myself.

And that’s a good place to be!

Sounds strange, maybe, but it is. When we finally reach a place of surrender, that’s when God can take control. That’s when God isn’t just our co-pilot, but we move way to the back of the bus!

We all spend inordinate amounts of time trying to control outcomes, control people around us, and control bad habits, yet we continually fail. The verse that goes along with this step sums up our dilemma as Paul writes in Romans 7:18:

“I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I
have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out.”

It’s so hard to change on our own. We try and try, our desire to do better is strong, but time and time again we fall short. I believe the only true, lasting change we can ever make is when we come to God and say, “God, I can’t do this. Help me!” And then guess what, He does! God exchanges our weakness for His strength. Our job is simply to admit we need help.

The bridge of the song I think sums up the song the best. It says,

I’m giving in, surrendering. I’m laying down everything.

When we reach that point, when we finally give in and admit we can’t do life on our own, that’s when God becomes our mighty fortress. That’s when His power can work in and through us.

It’s not like admitting we are powerless means we don’t have to take responsibility for anything. It doesn’t mean we have no say in how our lives turn out. Not at all. It means we are willing to ask God for the help we need and are willing to lay down our self-will.

It’s that sweet spot of total and complete surrender.

Whether it’s a radical change in our situation or a simple shift in our hearts and our perception, surrender changes everything.

Here are the words to the song. Read them carefully. My prayer is that they help bring you to a place of feeling powerless.

It’s a good place to be!

POWERLESS
Words and music by Jill Miller and Rachel Barrentine © 2016

I’ve been running my own race
I’ve been relying on my own strength
Wishing I could find a little hope
My feet are aching from the road I’m on
My heart is breaking and my peace is gone
God, I’m at the end of my rope
I’m ready, ready to let go
I know you’re steady, steady, you will hold me
When I’m empty, empty, You’re my overflow

You make the darkness run away
You call the dead out of the grave
A mighty fortress are You God
You are the power when I’m weak
You broke the grip of sin on me
A mighty fortress are You God
When I am powerless

You give me courage to make a change
When I’m discouraged you give me grace
To keep on coming back to you, Lord
I’m not a beggar, beggar any more
I am a treasure, treasure you’ve restored
And now forever, ever I’m completely yours

You make the darkness run away
You call the dead out of the grave
A mighty fortress are You God
You are the power when I’m weak
You broke the grip of sin on me
A mighty fortress are You God
When I am powerless

I’m giving in, surrendering, I’m laying down everything
I’m giving in, surrendering, I’m laying down everything

You make the darkness run away
You call the dead out of the grave
A mighty fortress are You God
You are the power when I’m weak
You broke the grip of sin on me
A mighty fortress are You God
When I am powerless

Hugs and love,

Jill

Leave a Reply

