Trust

Blog – 12-28-16


Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding;
 in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight. 
Proverbs 3:5-6

Trust has been a big word for me this past year. It’s a word God put on my heart early in the year, and He continually placed it in my mind as the year raged on.

On Tuesday God revealed one of the reasons He was asking me to trust.

It’s kind of a long story, but please bear with me. It’s worth it!

Last January Rachel Barrentine and I started writing a CD project for the recovery community and knew right away it was special. We wrote a song for each of the 12 Steps, and the songs felt very anointed and powerful. Every song we wrote seemed to have the Holy Spirit’s hand all over it.

Once we got to the point of thinking about recording, the issue of funding came into play. We knew we needed help to make this project a reality. For some reason I felt from the very beginning that it was going to be one or two people that would fund the majority of it.

Why did I feel like that? Why did I tell Rachel over and over, “Don’t worry. It’s going to be one or two people who will make it happen.” Why did I feel so certain about that?

And who could it possibly be? I had absolutely no idea who, but God kept whispering that little word to me, trust.

We sent out some requests, but had little, if any, response.

When Rachel wanted to throw in the towel, I kept hearing that gentle whisper to trust.

When months went by and nothing was moving the project forward, we both started feeling discouraged. But that little word entered my head again and again…over and over. Trust. Trust. Trust.

On Tuesday I saw what the other side of that little word looks like when I met with Mercy Medical Foundation and they offered to fund the project. And it only took a 15-minute meeting to make it happen!

What?

How does that happen? How could it be so easy?

God.

God knew that Rachel and I would meet at a co-write in Nashville and become great friends. God knew when He put the project in Rachel’s head that I was the one she needed to write it with.

God knew that the Holy Spirit would be with us as we wrote the songs that both of us feel so strongly about. God knew that we would get encouragement along the way from audiences who heard the songs and got incredibly excited about them. God knew that prayer warriors around the country would join us in praying for the project.

God knew when my husband and I called our friend who just lost his wife and asked him to dinner a few weeks ago that in the course of the evening our friend would ask what was going on with my music. God knew I would tell him about the project. He knew that my friend would suggest I call Mercy because they might get behind something like this.

God knew I literally NEVER would have thought of that on my own. Never!

God knew when I called Mercy, they would would meet with me the next week and fund the project.

God knew.

My job was to trust.

There have been a million times this past year when I have heard God tell me to trust in different situations. I’ll be honest, I haven’t seen the other side of most of those situations. Some of them are much more pressing and ominous and leave me waiting and hoping and wondering, but the other side of this particular one is really sweet! You probably heard me screaming in excitement when I left that meeting!

As you enter 2017, is trust possibly the word God is giving you for the year? Is He asking you to dig in deep with your faith and believe the impossible? Is He calling you to step into murky waters and trust Him to hold you up? Is He calling you to a season of intense, deep trust?

If so, I encourage you to do it. Just trust. What have you got to lose!

As we wrap up another year, I want to thank you for all the love and support I’ve felt this past year. I am incredibly blessed to do what I do.

I wish you all the best in the New Year, and I encourage you to trust that it will be the best year yet!

Hugs and love,

~Jill

One thought on “Trust

Leave a Reply

