Reflecting Light

Blog – 11-4-15

Reflecting Light

Butterflies on tree

As I was contemplating what to write my blog about today, I ran across this picture. I was immediately captivated by its breathtaking beauty. Obviously I’m a butterfly lover, but you have to admit, this picture is stunning.

My interest was piqued about these beautiful creatures, so I went on to read about the type of butterfly captured in this picture, which is a blue morpho butterfly. I learned that the blue morpho is among the largest butterflies in the world, with wings spanning from five to eight inches. Then I read something that stopped me in my tracks. It said, “Their vivid, iridescent blue coloring is a result of the microscopic scales on the backs of their wings, which reflect light.”

I don’t know why things hit you so hard sometimes, but the fact that their gorgeous blue color is the result of tiny scales on their wings reflecting light hit me like a ton of bricks. God instantly showed me that that’s what we are all supposed to be, people reflecting light…His light. The fact that the scales are microscopic in size yet are able to create such a beautiful result spoke to me about how the little things that we do can have a huge impact in the world for Christ.

In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.  Matthew 5:16

When we think about reflecting the light of God, sometimes we focus on the big things like becoming a full-time missionary or performing some large task in the name of Jesus. God showed me today that it’s the little things that matter and make a difference. It’s showing patience to the new clerk in the grocery store who is making your quick stop to pick up a few things drag on. It’s holding the door open for a new mom trying to wrestle her newborn’s car seat. It’s offering a smile and a quick hello to the neighbor who always looks so unhappy. It’s truly listening to someone share their story with you. It’s staying true to your faith in the mundane parts of your day.

All the little ways we live our lives add up to something beautiful when we reflect the light of God. In order to reflect that light, however, we have to have that light within us. We have to have the source close to our hearts. I know when I feel that light within me burning brightly, it’s a lot easier to reflect that light to others. When I let the light grow dim and don’t spend time with God, when I neglect His word and my quiet time with Him, His light doesn’t shine nearly as bright through me.

This nugget of truth God revealed to me today gives me so much hope because in a way it takes some of the pressure off. I don’t have to be doing something monumental to make a difference. I don’t have to be on a mission trip to the Congo to touch others for Christ. I can do it in the small, tiny, minute ways I live my ordinary life. Those tiny acts of kindness and love can turn into something beautiful when I choose to be someone who reflects God’s light.

By the way, don’t forget to sign up for your chance to win an iPad mini. Even if you already receive this blog, you need to sign up again in order to be entered. Here’s a link. Just click on the picture and it will lead you through to your chance to win!

Hugs and love,

Jill

jillmiller-ipad-contest

Leave a Reply

