Right Where You Left Off

Blog – 10-28-15

Right Where You Left Off

Fun with my classmates!

Last weekend I was blessed to spend time with some old friends from high school. We had a mini reunion of sorts, and it was a blast to reconnect with people I haven’t seen in years. So much has happened in each of our lives since the last time we saw each other, yet the connection we felt with each other was immediate. I was amazed at how quickly we picked up our friendships right where we left off.

The time we spent apart didn’t seem to matter as we caught up with each other and heard stories about everyone’s lives. One of my friends lost both of her parents this year, another one was still mourning the death of her husband a few years back, another friend had found love again after a nasty divorce, another one was anticipating her first grandchild…stories of hurt, joy, disappointment, stress, happiness. They were amazing stories of resilient women who have overcome major obstacles. They were stories of life.

As we sat and looked at our old annuals, we laughed at our awful hairdos and clothes, we remembered some of the crazy stunts we pulled on each other, and we reminisced about all the silly things we worried about when we were younger. We were doing life together during those crazy adolescent years that are filled with drama as we all tried to figure out who we are and where our place was in this world. Life was a roller coaster of emotions back then, and I believe the connection we felt with each other last weekend was instantaneous because we knew each other so well during those years of turmoil and change.

I smile as I think about our conversations and how much fun it was to catch up with everyone. It felt comfortable and unforced because we have known each other for so long. There is a special bond that comes with familiarity.

It made me think about our relationship with God. As long as these precious friends have known me, my loving Father has known me way longer and much more intimately. He knew me before He formed me in my mother’s womb. He knows every good decision I’ve made, every bad decision I’ve made, every tear I’ve cried, and every laugh I’ve laughed. He is the ultimate in friendship.

Those times when I have let that friendship drift away, much like I’ve let my friendships with these women drift away, those periods when I’ve neglected my quiet times with Him, those seasons of struggle where I’ve tried to hide from His presence are instantly forgiven when I have a sweet reunion with Him. When I reconnect with Him, our friendship is instantaneous, and we pick up right where we left off.

You have searched me, Lord,
and you know me.
You know when I sit and when I rise;
you perceive my thoughts from afar.
You discern my going out and my lying down;
you are familiar with all my ways. Psalm 139

Where are you on your spiritual journey? Do you feel close and connected to God right now, or do you feel distant and detached? Does He feel like an old friend or someone you’ve let drift away?

I want to encourage you that if you are feeling distant and disconnected from your Heavenly Father right now, reconnect with Him and reignite that friendship. He is waiting for a sweet reunion with you, and your friendship with Him will pick up right where you left off!

Below is a link to the second video in my 6-part series on the making of my latest CD project, King of Kings. This week we focus on the amazing session players who brought my songs to life. I hope you enjoy watching their incredible talent!

Hugs and love,

Jill

PS  Don’t forget to sign up again to win the iPad, and share with your friends!  Many thanks to Pyramid Technologies for donating the iPad mini!!

One thought on “Right Where You Left Off

  1. Jill, This is a lovely tribute to your friendship with your high school friends. The title of your CD, “Right Where you Left Off” reminds me also of the friendships I have maintained through the years with my high school friends and also with our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. When from time to time when you step back from Him, he pulls you right back and for that I’m so very grateful. He has blessed me so very much.

Leave a Reply

