Obstacles

Isaiah26.7.001

Blog – 10-21-15
Obstacles

 
But for those who are righteous,
the way is not steep and rough.
You are a God who does what is right,
and you smooth out the path ahead of them.
Isaiah 26:7 (NLT)

Sometimes we have a goal in mind, a destination we want to get to very badly, but it seems to be blocked. We start heading in the direction we think we are supposed to go, but suddenly obstacles start getting in the way. Sometimes these roadblocks get so big we lose sight of the goal completely because we start to focus on the obstacle, not on the destination. We get off course.

What if instead of focusing on the obstacles, we could focus on the Shepherd who is leading us? What if instead of concentrating on moving the roadblock, we concentrated on following the Spirit? What if when the road ahead of us looks rocky and hard to navigate, we trusted God completely? Isaiah 26:7 tells us that God is a “God who does what is right, and you smooth out the path ahead of them.” I believe when we keep our eyes focused on God and follow His lead, before we know it the obstacles will be behind us and we won’t even realize how we managed to pass through it.

That truth has been very evident in my own life lately. Those of you who have been reading this blog know that I will soon be releasing a brand new Christmas CD entitled “King of Kings.” I’m thrilled with this project because I know it’s by far the best music I’ve ever put out. It all began with a clear and distinct vision of what the CD needed to sound like, what the title of it should be, what the stage decorations needed to look like, etc. I’ve never had such a precise, clear destination in my mind for any of the previous four projects I’ve recorded.

But as many of you know, I’ve run into many obstacles along the way. First of all, the project was delayed an entire year because funding wasn’t in place. Then schedules kept getting crossed between my co-writers and I, and I wondered if we would ever get all the songs written. Then when we were ready to record, schedules got changed again, studio times were cancelled, I battled allergies and vocal issues, financing took forever…obstacles continued getting in the way. I started to feel like this project would never get completed.

God kept putting a quiet word in my heart however…trust. Somehow amidst the problems that kept coming at me, I was able to keep my eyes focused on God and His will. When I had a very strained, raspy voice and I was heading to the studio the next day, I kept telling myself that God has this. I know the destination is going to bring Him glory, and He has this. It didn’t make sense why I was getting sick right then, but I had a peace I’ve never had with any other project. I knew the destination, and I kept my eyes focused on the Shepherd who was leading me to the finish line. Oh, I didn’t do it perfectly, of course. I had my moments where I freaked out and doubted, but I watched in amazement as God literally smoothed out the path in front of me.

Now as I sit here ready to release the CD, I literally feel like it couldn’t be any better. The goal has been met because of one simple thing…I kept my eyes focused on the King of Kings, not on all the obstacles that were getting in the way. I finally learned to trust!

I am very excited to tell you about a contest we are doing to help release the new CD. Even if you’re already receiving this blog, you will need to fill out the form on my Facebook page or my website. If you go to Facebook or my website and sign up for the blog (I promise you won’t get it twice!) your name will be entered into a contest to win an iPad mini loaded with all of my music, including the new CD “King of Kings.” You can get other chances to win by sharing the link on my Facebook page. Your name will be entered again every time you share it (only once daily.) The drawing will be held live at my CD release concert at the Sioux City Orpheum Theatre on November 28th at 7:00 p.m. You won’t need to be present to win.

I can’t wait to share with you the process of actually recording the music for the CD through a series of six videos. Starstruck Studios (Reba’s studio in Nashville) was absolutely amazing, so please watch the first video below and you will see how the music came to life. If you would share the video on Facebook, that would be amazing too! It would help me get the word out about the contest and this new project.

If you have obstacles that are getting in your way, I encourage you to keep your eyes on God’s Presence to show you the way through!

Hugs and love,

~Jill

Leave a Reply

