Worship Until You Wonder

Blog – 10-14-15

worship

Worship Until You Wonder

This morning was one of those mornings when I woke up in a bad mood. From the minute I got out of bed, I felt frustrated and a wee bit angry. Ever had a day like that? I know we all do at times. Through clenched teeth, I forced myself to work out, hoping that would change things and pump up my attitude a bit, but it didn’t. My attitude was still in the toilet.

When I was showering and getting ready, my thoughts started racing in all kinds of negative directions until I could not see the forest for the trees. Simple problems became momentous situations with no end in sight. But then the Holy Spirit nudged me ever so gently and reminded me that I could take my thoughts captive. He reminded me that I was not a slave to them.

I thought about the saints who have gone before us who worshiped in the midst of their struggles, so I figured I would give it a try. What do I have to lose except for a bad attitude! It felt very weird and phony at first, but I simply started singing a worship song. I made it up as I went, but I kept singing praises to our King until finally my heart and my mind followed suit. All of a sudden I didn’t feel so frustrated and my life didn’t seem so overwhelming as my eyes were focused on our Loving Father, not on me. Once that happened, I was able to take charge of my thoughts and stop the negative voices that were striving to take over my brain.

I think often about Paul and Silas who worshiped God right after they had been beaten and thrown in jail. Talk about a bad attitude! They had every reason in the world to be angry about their situation, but instead they CHOSE to worship. They CHOSE to give God glory in the midst of their suffering. They CHOSE to take their thoughts captive. And their worship was obviously powerful because God heard their songs and broke them right out of that prison

We may not find ourselves in a physical prison, but many of us get trapped in our own individual prisons. We feel shackled to negative emotions and feel caged in. We feel chained to our pasts. We feel handcuffed to our sin. Our thoughts can start to act like a prison warden who wants to punish us for every single misbehavior. We forget who we are in Christ…a new creation.

The Good News is you don’t have to stay “stuck on stupid” as my husband would say! Just like Paul and Silas, you can CHOOSE to change how you approach a negative situation or a bad day. You can CHOOSE to worship, to focus your thoughts and your mind on the throne of God. You can CHOOSE to worship until you wonder.
Worship until you wonder…wonder how you could have been so upset over nothing.
Click to Tweet

Worship until you wonder…wonder why you haven’t stopped worrying about that “thing” you said you gave to God.
Click to Tweet

Worship until you wonder…wonder how your thoughts got so off track.
Click to Tweet

Worship until you wonder…wonder why you failed to see your many blessings.
Click to Tweet

The next time you wake up in a bad mood and don’t know how to get yourself out of it, I encourage you to try this simple exercise of worship. If you think you can’t sing or don’t like to sing, listen to your favorite worship song over and over until it becomes real and authentic in your heart. If you like to sing, go for it! Do it! Make something up as you go if you want to. It will be beautiful in God’s ears. Fake it till you make it! It worked for me, and I know it will work for you too!

Worship until you wonder!

worship until you wonder

Hugs and love,

~Jill

Leave a Reply

